1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Adding Sansamp to pedal board...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Lakland55, Sep 27, 2013.

1. Lakland55

Lakland55

Dec 13, 2007
    Tucson, AZ
    I've been scanning through lots of threads containing both pedal boards and sansamp topics but coming up empty on a question that I need answering...and forgive my ignorance, I'm still new to owning and using multiple pedals and effects.

So, I recently ordered the Tech 21 sansamp bass driver DI and would like to add it to my current pedal board but I'm not sure where in the chain its supposed to be (I assumed last)?

My current pedal board is pretty standard stuff:

Wah --> Compression --> Fuzz --> Octave --> Synth --> Chorus --> Tuner

Am I right that the DI goes last in the chain?

2. SpruceGoose54

SpruceGoose54

May 21, 2013
    Read the manual and it'll tell you what they recommend. I think it's after compressor but before effects. But mess around and you never know what cool sounds you can get.

3. I put mine very last in the chain, so that if I'm using the DI to go to FOH it has my effects in it.

loopee likes this.
  4. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph !! Supporting Member

I've had mine for 5 years now and it's been sitting at its current spot for the last 3. I went by the book for the first 2 and to my ears, there's no noticeable difference in anything important. I use the DI often, so it stays last.

5. Lakland55

Lakland55

Dec 13, 2007
    Tucson, AZ
    Yeah, so I'm in the process of putting the new sansamp on the board and I've read the instructions which indicate that "your bass should be plugged directly into the sansamp and the effects should be placed after sansamp". Here I am thinking that if I wanted the effects in the chain it would go last or right before the tuner (pitch black cuts everything out when engaged). Confusing...