1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Adjusting Saddles On Hipshot Style Bridge

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by masterbassion, Jun 20, 2007.

1. masterbassion

masterbassion

Jun 20, 2007
    Hi new here so if this has been asked before, my apologies.
    I am new to building basses and have bought a cheap Hipshot style 4 string bass bridge on Ebay. It strings through rear and is not a string thru body type. You know the type, with the channels. I'm just wondering how you move the saddles backwards and forwards to adjust intonation while the strings are tensioned across the saddles. Do you just slacken off the strings, move the saddle, retune, then check intonation again and so on? Is there an easy way to move the saddles? Sorry new to all this. Ebay seller knows nothing about this.

2. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    A pic might help but I'll give it a try anyway.

My Hipshot bridges all have "travel" screws threaded thru the tailend of the bridge itself and incorporate a spring behind each saddle to maintain tension. My Cirrus's ABM bridge has a small hex screw in each saddle which locks it into the channel. Which better describes your set-up?

Riis

3. masterbassion

masterbassion

Jun 20, 2007
    Thanks for your post. Sorry I cant supply a pic. But your ABM bridge sounds like the same set up. There are no screws with tension springs threaded thru the end of bridge. This bridge just has 2 screws on top of saddle, 1 screw in edge of groove of each saddle and 1 at end of saddle. Hope that helps.

4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA