1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Adjusting the truss- who to listen to?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by animus.terry005, Nov 30, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Question for the luthiers.
    Depending on where one reads, there seems to be a couple schools of thought:
    First, I have read to adjust the truss a very small amount and then let the neck "settle" for up to 24 hours.. less break the neck or something
    Second, I've read that no settling is required.. just play the dang instrument.. it isn't going to break if you're not stupid about it.

I have been making my own adjustments for nearly 20 years and I have always leaned more towards adjusting my neck and playing, then, should it need a little more adjustment later, do it.

Now, the reason I'm asking after all this time is that I recently acquired a bass that had NEVER been adjusted as far as I can tell. In fact, the truss was completely loose and the neck was seemingly ready for deer season in New Hampshire.
    What I ended up doing was took the strings off and let the neck relax. When it relaxed, it actually had a near-perfect relief to it, so I snugged the truss nut and restrung the bass. Once I had string tension, I continued tightening the truss a little at a time until the relief seemed correct for the tuning- applying pressure to the neck so that the truss nut wasn't doing all the work. The bass sat overnight and has been fine.

My theory being where the neck wood isn't forced beyond the point it was when it had 0 pressure, all I've done is tighten the truss to secure it in place and shouldn't need to worry about it exploding on me. Does this sound reasonable?

I could see if the neck had a permanent bow in it and I caused strain by trying to counter it, but this wasn't the case.

Thoughts?

nbsipics, 96tbird and Scottgun like this.