Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advanced Techniques and Playing Position

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Joroan, Aug 30, 2004.

1. I have been playing bass, both electric and acoustic, for several years now. However, only in the last year have I started playing with "advanced" electric techniques such as playing multiple parts with a melody in harmonics, tapping, double thumping, etc. I have been learning tons by studying Victor Wooten pieces. Specifically, Classical Thump, The Vision, More Love, Amazing Grace, and Norwegian Wood.

My problem is this: I can only play using these techniques when I'm sitting down. I have a 24-fret Warwick Thumb-bolt. This bass is much heavier than my first bass, a 20-fret Fender Jazz. When I am standing up, the neck does not stay in an angled position higher than the body. This is because it is heavy. I'm finding that I have to use my left hand to keep the neck in that position. When I stand, I have no problems playing bass "normally," such as when I play walking basslines or improvise, because my left hand stays on the neck the entire time.

I think some people are going to tell me to adjust the strap. I am sure that I have the strap set properly. The bass slides down, though, when I remove my left hand. The difference when I sit down is that the body rests on my thigh, and so I can keep the bass stationary as I two-hand tap and such. The left hand isn't needed to keep the bass in the proper position. The bass also sits a little more to the right, so that I can more easily reach the end of the fretboard and twist my left hand however I need to play harmonics. (Think of Amazing Grace when you're playing three strings, one fretted and the other two as harmonics.) If I play Amazing Grace standing up, my left hand cramps up very quickly because it must support the bass as well as twist around.