advancing the slap bass skills

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by FaultLine423, Nov 4, 2000.

1. FaultLine423

Aug 27, 2000
    hi everyone. I'm looking to advance my slap bass skills. My number one problem is that my bass teacher doesn't know enough about slap bass to teach me anything I don't already know. I was wondering what, if any, are some good "advanced slap bass technique" methods that I could study. This would include anything from videos to excercise books. It's just that right now I'm stuck in the whole Flea style of slap bass, which frankly bores me quite a bit, and I'd like to advance beyond that. The most important things to me that I would like to advance the fluidity of my slapping and pop, and my speed. Thank you.
  2. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    ...I'm no expert-
    That said...
    From a sheer physicality issue, are you into the Alain Caron/Vic Wooten-style of Thumb DOWN/UP, Pluck1/Pluck2 method? I know I'm not! :D
    Check out Caron's groove on "Slam The Clown"(off his RHYTHM 'N' JAZZ cd). That's how he's getting that steady 1/16 note, machined gunned grooooove!

When I'm in serious practice mode, I'll take a drum/percussion book & attempt to play a drum part by using a combination of thumps, slaps, & pops(& hopefully in a way that's totally "foreign" to what my hands are used to doing). You can take a "simple" Ago-go rhythm & make a slap/pop bass figure out of it. It's fun!

Something else that I'm constantly working on-
    Cross rhythms(again)!
    There's "3 over 4"; "5 over 4"; "6 over 4"; "7 over 4"; etc Too, Latin claves are cool to work with; there's a ton of S*** out there!

Anyway, take the "3 over 4" figure-
    The "3" part is the Downbeats: 1-2-3
    The "4" part is "what's left": 1-a-&-e
    ***Note that BOTH begin on the "1"***
    What you can do is play the "3" part as your LEFT hand(fretting hand)slap & play the "4" part as your RIGHT hand(plucking hand)thumps &/or pops.
  3. FaultLine423

Aug 27, 2000