1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice for a new teacher

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bthiemann80, Aug 8, 2008.

1. There's been a huge demand for teaching bass at the music store I currently work at and no instructor. I've never really taught before aside from showing fellow players a few tricks and helping a few beginners along with exercises. But I have a lot of patience and knowledge worthy of passing down (or so I'd like to think). I've been playing bass exclusively for over 13 years and know enough about scales/modes/basic theory only to be dangerous.

For all you bass insructors out there, what advice would you give a teacher just starting out?

2. rarbass

rarbass

Jul 3, 2008
    I'm no instructor, but I remember when I first started learning I had to learn from a guitar teacher. Therefore, I was allowed to use a pick. Now before I hear about it: THIS IS NOT A BAD THING! However, if I were a teacher, I would encourage bass players to learn to use their fingers first, and then pickstyle, slap, etc. can call come later.
    In the beginning, I learned the scales mostly as patterns instead of the actual theory on them. I don't know if this was good or bad, as I was able to pick up the theory later.
    Of course, make sure the player knows the notes on the fretboard, and the relations between strings. I've seen players starting out that don't know what note they're playing, and this will really help them, especially in the beginning.

I know I'm no teacher, but I know now what I would've liked to learn in the beginning. Modes are probably not too bad an idea to start in the beginning as well.

3. DudeistMonk

DudeistMonk

Apr 13, 2008
    Newark, NJ
    I'm no teacher either but...

Old teacher started me on modes....they where annoying and I didn't see the point.