Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advice for newbie - dead E & A strings on UB

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by JeffS., Sep 3, 2005.

1. JeffS.

JeffS.

Sep 2, 2005
    Hi - I'm new to TB and hope you folks can offer some help/advice. I have been playing bass guitar for many years and have wanted to play UB so I just bought a Chinese Prima 80 3/4 size (I know ... we can discuss the wisdom of this later, if you want).

The bass is nice for the price, but has dead-sounding E & A strings. The company I dealt with was great - in fact, they took the first one back and sent me another one within 4 days. It also has the same problem. The strings are cheapo, from-the-factory brand, so that may explain it, but the D sounds good and the G sounds great. Maybe because of proximity to soundpost? The soundpost was installed when the bass arrived and is about where it should be and I set-up the bridge as directed. I have been tweaking the bridge up and back and side-to-side to see if it changes the sound but it remains about the same.

So - any suggestions (besides turning the Prima into kindling)? I will buy some new strings and try those (I play mostly jazz and the bass will probably never leave our house, so any string suggestions are appreciated).

Also - if one sound post at the G spot is good, is there a reason why there isn't a second one under the E? It would certainly add more structural integrity to the top; however, I do not know much about the physics of sound movement through the body of an upright, so perhaps two posts would be worse than one (duelling soundposts ...?).

Anyhow - thanks for your help and it is great to have this forum available.

JeffS.

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Hi-- and welcome to TB. First, please fill out your profile.