1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice for removing strings

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Robert Murphy, Feb 19, 2008.

1. I am new to the double bass and need advice. I want to remove the strings and replace the coat hanger with braided cable, refit the feet of the bridge to the top and install new strings without losing my sound post. Here's my idea. Use a band clamp ,or strap as some would call it, along with a soft cover book to keep tension on the top while I tinker with the fiddle? I would place the book just below the bridge which I will outline with painters tape for reference and run the band diagonally across the lower bout and centered on the book. I know not to squeeze the sap out of the thing just enough pressure to avoid an unwanted adventure. Yes, no, I nuts? Thanks. Bob

2. jimmyduded

jimmyduded

Jun 12, 2007
    cherry hill nj
    first of all, the strap is probably not a good idea, the place where you tension it is most likely metal and will damage your bass.for refitting the feet, get a buddy to hold some sandpaper and go back and forth over the top being careful not to rock it back and forth. this is alot of work man, well if you want it done right it is. i just hope you know what your taking on, i have never tried to pin the soundpost in, if your going to be doing all this setup work you might as well adjust your sound post to sit right on the bass, good luck, now i believe the professionals such as bob and arnold will chime in

3. bribass

bribass

Jan 25, 2006
    Northern NJ
    Endorsing Artist; Arnold Schnitzer/ Wil DeSola New Standard RN DB