1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice for songwriting?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by TunnelPig, May 18, 2011.

1. TunnelPig

TunnelPig

May 6, 2011
    New Jersey
    Let's talk songwriting for a minute - also, if this is in the wrong forum, my apologies because I don't know a better one and it's pretty relevant anyway.

So I've been playing music/bass for five years now and entertaining the idea of writing my own songs for about three. Although I really like the idea of creating something that people can connect with (in the same way that I connect with a lot of my favorite music) when I actually tell myself to write I never know where to start on multiple fronts and gradually get bored and do something else. I have Guitar Pro 5for notating (which requires pretty strong reading skills to use efficiently and I'm super slow with it) and I also have a DI box for my bass. Though I'm getting into funk now, historically I have listened to a lot of metal and can only imagine that this would undoubtedly show through something I write.

Basically I'm looking for some advice, from bassist to bassist, that might help get me on the way to creating my own works. I'm proud of my actual bass playing and have even studied theory for the last couple years; now I'm just trying to find a way to further explore the creative aspect of music. Thanks.

(PS - I'm much more focused on actual musical composition than lyric writing.)

2. A few things that might help:

1. Write something every day. An interesting lyric, a catchy two-bar melody, or even if it's revising something you wrote yesterday, anything. Music writing is like learning a language, it takes discipline to make any progress. If you're serious about writing, you can't leave it up to just writing whenever the mood strikes you.