1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice for starting/finding a band?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ScottFrettzBass, Dec 22, 2011.

1. I'm a 15 year old Bassist, and I've been having trouble starting a band. For about 2 years now I've been looking for people to play with, but as i live in a really small town with 3 good guitarists, one drummer, and besides me 1 bassist in the /entire/ town. counting off that the only drummer is in a band with 2 guitarists and that one other bassist, i'm kinda screwed. xD I've played some "Spur of the moment" Gigs with one of my friends before, but he even has his own band that he plays with. Any advice to get out there? because i've got nothing. *by the way, my last name is actually Bass, i find it very fitting as a bassist*

2. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    Craigslist or better yet, find a musicians classified website for your area. Stretch yourself out a bit and go to some other towns nearby and see what's going on.

3. Might get better when you start college.

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Song Surgeon slow downer. https://tinyurl.com/y5dcuqjg
    Since you have a few years until college, how about picking up a keyboard, recording your own tunes/covers with a drum machine?
    And doing your own vocals as well.

Something that's creative and challenging at the same time that will make you a better musician. :hyper:

5. parmezans

parmezans

Nov 25, 2011
    +1 to all answers.
    Especially Stumbo's advice.