Advice for young bassist

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by SuperslinkY, Sep 25, 2005.

1. Hey,

First of I'd like to say hey to all as this is my 1st post in ........

The situation is: Im a 16 year old bassist from England currently playing in a band who play practice twice or more a week. And as for me I play my bass whenever i have the chance to when i get home from work etc.

I left school in June, got my results in August... The results were good enough to take me into a VERY good course in college, but I thought about it more and a course I seen came up at a place called Henery boot building apprentice. So I have been going there for the past 7 weeks on assessment seeing if I am able to go on apprenticeship.

Turns out when I go to the canteen which is most of the day cos they dont teach u **** there, all the so called "chavs" who work there, dont get me wrong I get along with them seem to be taking pills and smoking weed and basically hotboxing the canteen up all day. I used to smoke weed, but thought I would quit it for the good of my future, and these guys arent helping the situation at all.

SO! the situation is now that tommorrow evening I have got a interview with a company called "connexions" basically like a jobcentre but is aimed at teenagers aged 16-17 just leaving school. They have got a few college courses I can do which is ICT based like office courses etc.

But the realism of it all is there is a music college in a town next to mine who teach everything you need to know ranging from playing my bass guitar, and sound technology etc.

THATS where I want to be, I mentioned it to my mom once and she said that it will get me nowhere in life and that I should get a REAL course. At that moment I was quite shocked by what she said as she usually backs me up in whatever direction I choose to take in life.