1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice from you seasoned vets for a novice?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Pablo Fanque, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Pablo Fanque

Pablo Fanque

Apr 1, 2009
    Hey, all. I'm brand new (first post) to this forum.

I'm a self-taught (but not very good) guitar player. 15-ish years ago I was decent, at least capable enough to play some fairly simple songs in a little cover band (Beatles, Police, Doors kind of stuff.)

I never had lessons and other than learning chords or playing by tabs, I never learned much about music, certainly nothing about music theory.

I've been dying to learn to play bass, so I picked up an inexpensive Dean acoustic/electric a 1 1/2 weeks ago and have been noodling with it.

I can play a few songs (pretty simple ones.) I've not memorized the fret board, but I can find all the notes (at least through the 12th frets.) I've been doing simple do-re-mi scales (don't know the technical names of all the scales yet) with a, c, d and maybe from f or something.

I'd like to be able to play rock, maybe some jazz and older country. Maybe I'd play in a band down the road but not sure that's the goal quite yet.

Given all that, what things would you suggest I do to become a decent player? Should I take lessons? Try to learn to read music? Just learn to play a lot of songs?

Your advice is appreciated. :)

2. Kindofblue

Kindofblue

Oct 13, 2008
    Canada
    All 3 of those suggestions together imo. I guess it goes with what your goals are what you wanna learn ?

3. Archangel_Bass

Archangel_Bass

Mar 29, 2009
    Ontario