Advice: Good Heavy Metal Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by G5L1C3, Mar 11, 2003.

1. G5L1C3

Mar 11, 2003
    Whats up all,

I'm still a beginner bassist(I did however play the Double bass for two years in my school orchestra & was first chair bass for almost the whole time.), but I am starting to save up for my next bass now, so that by the time I have enough money, I will be ready for a new bass. I'm looking for a good bass to play Heavy Metal. Any suggestion on what a good bass would be. I've heard that the Spector Rex signature model is good, or that the Ibanez SRX series are supposed to be good, but as I said I am a beginner and would appreciate advice from more experienced bassists.
  2. bentem

Oct 18, 2002
    Rockville, MD
    ibanez ae good for metal, im sure that spector is good too. Also check out Ernie Ball stingrays.
  3. Im a sock

Im a sock

Dec 23, 2002
    Central MA
    My Peavey Cirrus sounds fantastic in my metal band. It's all a matter of what sounds the best to you.
  4. I own an Ibanez SRX-505 and I love it. While I haven't been playing bass that long (2 years) it's one of the better ones I've played...and the price is reasonble. The B string is a bit loose...but once you change the strings, that isn't a problem anymore. With the right head and cab, it can cut through the mix with ease.
  5. kaboom133

Oct 19, 2001
    Latrobe PA
  6. gmann

Mar 1, 2001
    Ditto on what Im a sock says. I play my Cirrus in my metal band. If ya want to hear some samples let me know and I'll give ya the website to hear it.
  7. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

My originals band plays a wide range of material, including metal. My Peavey Cirrus sounds great and cuts through the distorted guitars like a hot knife through butter.

My Hamer CH12 also sounds great on a couple of our metal numbers. A 12 string bass with a little overdrive is great for heavy music.