advice needed as to which City to move to

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by AJ Love, Feb 23, 2004.

1. AJ Love

AJ Love

Oct 8, 2002
    Madison WI USA
    my wife and I are happily counting down the months to when my eldest son goes off to college and we can move away from Madison WI.... while Madison has its postive attributes its not the place we want to live in forever. we have 5 years to figure out where to go next (the only reason we live in Madison is because my 12 year old son lives here, I get to see him twice a week)

I make my living playing bass guitar. mainly funk and jamband stuff, a little Jazz fusion, some studio gigs, so preferably a city with a great music scene OR in close proximity to a great music scene is wanted

here's the thing though: my wife and I have a one year old son. I am not exactly sure that we want our kid growing up in NYC or Chicago or some other big city....

so therein lies the rub: looking for a place that has access to a great music scene, or at least is close by a great music scene, AND is a good place to raise kids

any ideas, suggestions, whatever is most appreciated
  2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Lacey, Washington. I was pretty much raised here, and am raising my own kids here now as well.

One hour south of Seattle, two hours north of Portland.

My wife used to live in Thorp, Wisconsin.

3. AJ Love

AJ Love

Oct 8, 2002
    Madison WI USA
    the Washington state area is a good suggestion. close to several bigger cities and good for West Coast tours. my wife has relatives in Bellingham WA and we both like that place alot. right in between Seattle and Vancouver
  4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    I like Belligham also. That's pretty far from me, so I don't go there much.

5. Justin V

Justin V

Dec 27, 2000
    Alameda, CA