Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

advice needed for adjusting string height.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by dirtgroove, Nov 17, 2003.

1. dirtgroove

dirtgroove

Jan 10, 2003
    Taipei, Taiwan
    Please bear in mind that I'm new to this before flaming me for doing something absurd- also that I live in Taiwan and advice on stuff lilke this isn't the easiest to get hold of.

I changed my strings (flat wounds to high beams)a couple of days ago and the first thing that struck me was an absurd level of fret buzz when plucking a note (mainly on a and d strings and with less buzz the higher up the neck I play). With an open A or D the note was totally smothered by the buzz. Before I changed the set there was not fretbuzz.

Well, as I only had a few hours before I had to play I figured that by raising the bridge height this would solve the solution. To a certain extent it did (except that now the action is considerably higher-).

My question is do I need to do anything else? I'm NEW to this, don't entirely understand truss rods and am reluctant to mess around with it my myself. I would love to get that nice low action back (and the high beams) if possible.

PS also if this helps the bass is standard four string stingray.

many thanks,
    Tom.

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Check the string winding around the posts. The string should be wound downwards, to create as much downward pressure on the string at the nut as possible.

3. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    Since the buzzing seems to occur low down the neck, even when the string is played open, it sounds like the neck has too little relief. This should be adjusted with the truss rod.