1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Advice needed on Aguilar cab with Carvin Micro Combo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tugboat, Aug 19, 2012.

1. So it appears I am going to be able to score an Aguilar GS112NT from a buddy at a good deal. I was already considering grabbing a Carvin MB10 to use a a practice amp, quiet rehearsal combo, etc. My question is with the 8ohm GS112NT running as an extension with the MB10 and it's 250 watts will the MB10 be able to push enough power to let the Aggie shine? From what I've heard about the BX250 head in these Catrvin's I think yes, but I wanted to hear from some guys that actually know what they are talking about. (I'm a drummer who plays bass ;-). I considered saving a boat load of cash and just going with the MB10 and the 115extension stack but I've heard a lot of negativity about the low end on these 15" Carvin MB extension cabs. FYI - I wouldn't be opposed to another of the Carvin combos MB combos to pair with the AGgie, or even even scrap the Aggie in lieu of something else. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
    I forgot to mention....I'm not gigging at teh moment, just playing for fun but I'm a semi gear snob when it comes to bass, just want some decent stuff and stuff if need be I could gig with. (with drums I am a total snob..lol)

2. craig.p

craig.p

Sep 28, 2008
    New Hampshire