1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice needed on guitar players first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Iversen, Oct 22, 2006.

1. Iversen

Iversen

Oct 22, 2006
    Denmark
    I'm a guitar player for +20 years now and this small, but constant urge to picking up the bass has grown stronger and stronger these last few years up until now where I'm gassing badly for a bass.

I'm not sure what to get, which is why I'm posting here on this forum where all the serious bass people seem to come.

So far I have this going for me:
    I play bass using my right hand index and middle fingers, no pick and no slapping.
    My left hand technique is alright, as in thumb behind the neck, not on top of it.
    I know my way around the fretboard very well from the guitar
    and I can hold a beat alright.

I'm a teacher (junior high) so I have access to two cheap basses, a Cort shortscale something and a Morris Jazz Bass. I'm playing bass with some fellow teachers in a band of not-so-skilled players, just horsing around... I'm the guitar player in other more serious bands.

Now, what bass to get? I'll probably end up with a Jazz Bass, a Stingray or a G&L of some kind.

Should I go for 4 or 5 strings? What are the cons of 5 strings apart from a higher price?

Should I go for fretless or fretted? Fretted is pretty much like a guitar, only bigger, whereas fretless is a whole other beast. Is it better to start fretless and then fretted will come easily, or should I just get the basics down before taking on a fretless?

Any thoughts?

2. de la mocha

de la mocha

Aug 20, 2005
    NEW JERSEY
    My only advice is to get down to the local guitar spot and play as many basses as you can and let your heart be the judge.