Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advice needed on new rig components

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Vegiehead, Mar 18, 2006.

1. Vegiehead

Vegiehead

Jan 23, 2006
    Hi Guys

Im looking at putting together a bass rig and need some advise, Ive always used combo amps so this is my first time with Cabs and heads and such.

I have 2 options that i can see so far and would like your ideas on what way might be best.

Currently i have a Ashton 4x10 rated at 400w locked at 8 Ohm

Option 1 = get my hands on a Power Amp and a Boss effects pedal so i can get compression, EQ, delay etc total cost approx $1200

Option 2 = get my hands on a 400w 8 Ohm head with EQ,Compression etc on it total cost approx $700

I can see that option 1 gives you expandability (SP?) to add other cabinets down the road if need be but its also twice the price almost!

Im prolly only ever gunna play Pubs and clubs id say no bigger that 100 odd people.

Add to this we have a mixer that ive been asked to run through so there is a central piont that the sound can be controlled from.

Im open to any help.

Thanks

James B

2. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Dang! That's awfully spendy!

Where the heck are you located?

An RMX850 + a Sansamp RBI + Rack should only cost around $700 brand new! And if you are thinking about the Boss GT6B (will it drive a power amp?) that should still only be around $780 brand new. You can always shop around for the best price.

Click here...

and here.

and here.

The Boss.

Click here.

and here. (for the power amp)

What about $500 for this?

Click.

Mmm....then a 400w (or so) head should more than fit the bill.