Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advice needed

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by doublestop, Jun 20, 2004.

1. Hey, can you experts give me some advice please on what combo or rig to buy.....

I have been playing (electric) guitar for 25 years, I know my stuff when it's about guitar amps, but am new to bass. I have bought a nice G&L Tribute L-2000, and look for a good combo or head+box. Please advice me on what to buy. I'm open to both new and used.

These are my demands:

* suited for Top-40 / rock / allround
    * I play fingerstyle
    * for jamsessions / rehearsals / small gigs (in the future) with a drummer, keyboard and a guitarplayer
    * I like LOW notes, the bass should have a good, solid, warm LOW sound, yet not mushy and undefined... (!)
    * portability is a pro. A 8 x 10 would be too much....I was thinking 1 x 15 neo, maybe ?

Edit: extra question: will a 2 x 12 be a good compromise of deep lows, definition and portability ?

Reactions please.

Thanks,

Peter

2. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    how much can you spend?? see combo suggestions here The Yorkville XM50 is probably better just at home, but I've heard the xm50 and the xm100 and WOW! I've spend 5 years and probably about $8000 building a nice rig (including the ones that didn't stay) and not often impressed with combos lately(I prefer separates), but the XM100 is pretty cool, loud, and nice price!!

as far as separates I'm also biased :D I love the aguilar gs112 (1x12) bass cabs. Light, rich tone, reasonable price. some people prefer greater bargains and Avatar cabs come highly recommended for the price (500w 1x12 for $250!)