Advice on a little repair job...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by whero, Aug 20, 2020.

1. I've done plenty of setups on plenty of basses, but I've never tried anything "luthiery" before, so I'm looking for some advice. Here's the situation...

I have an acoustic guitar. It's a Cimar (an old Ibanez sub-brand) so it was pretty cheap when I bought it new. And I bought it when I was about 14 or 15, which makes it around 45 years old, so I'm sure it's now worth two thirds of #&@% all, as they say. Because of this, I don't want to take it to a proper luthier and pay way more for a repair than the whole guitar is worth. So I thought I'd give it a crack myself. What have I got to lose?

The problem is that the fretboard has separated from the neck. It's still joined at the nut, and again from about 1cm after the neck joins the body, but for the length of the 15-odd frets in between there is a gap that's about 3mm at it's widest.
    upload_2020-8-21_15-2-16.png

To show that the fretboard is completely separated, the light bits I've marked in this second photograph are the daylight shining through from the other side.
    upload_2020-8-21_15-6-8.png

So I'm thinking: I should just take the strings off, get any dust or loose material out of the gap, slip some glue in there, clamp it, and wait. It sounds easy when you just say it like that. But I'd love some advice from people who actually know what they're doing, because I don't. The immediate questions I have are:
    1. What glue should I use?
    2. Will the truss rod be "exposed" under the fretboard, i.e. should I be careful about glue down the centre line of the neck, in case I "seal" the TR in place?
    3. Is it actually repairable, or is this already a write-off?
    But I'm sure there are plenty of other things I haven't thought about, so all and any advice will be gratefully received.