1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Advice on Avatar cabs please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BluesOnBass, Jan 8, 2012.

1. BluesOnBass

BluesOnBass Supporting Member

Dec 17, 2010
    Holland, Michigan
    Hi all,

I have an opportunity to purchase an Avatar 410 for a good price. I know it is 4 ohms and that it is rated at 1400 watts. This tells me that it is the ceramic magnet, from looking at the Avatar website.

I have never played through a separate cab before. I have been using an Acoustic b200 combo for the last 4 years, and I really like it. I am wanting to be able to be heard in a larger setting when needed in the future.

I recently got an Ampeg PF 500 head, and so of course need a cab to play it through :smug:

I play mostly blues, motown, blues-rock, country-rock, and jazz.

I doubt I will need anything more than one cab in the forseeable future, and I doubt I will play to more than a smallish hall (say 500-750 people max), or possibly in a medium-large outdoor setting. The bands I am in feature one guitar, drums, keyboard, vocalist, and me on bass.

I am looking for a cab whose tone will suit the style of music I'm playing (low and warm for the most part). On a budget of $400 max.

My main question is do you think this cab will provide what I'm looking for in a single cab for the applications I'll be using it for? What concerns would you have, if any?

I pretty sure I could get what Im looking for from an Ampeg cab from what I've read and heard, but I can't afford that right now, and I want something SOONER if I can find something that might fit at a more affordable price :)

Any advice and input would be appreciated!

Thanks

2. It should fit your needs very well! Avatar makes good cabs at a reasonable price. :)

3. shoot-r

shoot-r

May 26, 2007