1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

advice on buying a used guitar

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Ewo, Nov 27, 2017.

1. Ewo

Ewo a/k/a Steve Cooper Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2008
    Huntington WV
    So...I'm a bassist. That's the instrument I'm competent on, and get paid to play. Been doing it for a long time, and I'm musically literate.

But I've been thinking it'd be nice to have a guitar around, just for fun and for writing tunes. Budget is modest and condition doesn't need to be perfect as long as the thing plays well.

Wanted to ask for advice about shopping for a used electric guitar. I'm thinking in terms of a Strat with a rosewood board--but I'm not clued as to all the various models of Squiers, MIMs, MIJs, and MIAs. And I'm open to other makes and models, but I'm pretty solid that my tone preference is for the Fender kind of thing.

Would value whatever suggestions you have to offer!

Farseer and Killed_by_Death like this.
  2. Oddly

Oddly Unofficial TalkBass Cartographer! Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    All I can advise is to get yourself to some guitar stores and play everything they've got.
    Then forget this silly notion and get back to playing a real instrument!:D

3. If you're not really intending on using the vibrato arm, get something with a fixed bridge.
    The floating bridge on a Strat is just an unnecessary nuisance if you're not going to make use of it.
    and then there's the single coil noise

Check your local pawn shops. I've found gems in my local pawn shops over the years & I finally surmised that LTD is the best bang-for-buck, and Ibanez is 2nd.
    only because Ibanez puts pretty crap pickups in their cheaper models

I've got a LTD MH-1000NT with Seymour Duncan pickups.
    These are easily bought off GC.com for less than $500, and they're originally $1,000 guitars.