1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

advice on buying a (warwick) bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by appelsauce, Sep 30, 2009.

1. appelsauce

appelsauce

Nov 23, 2008
    hi,

I found a second hand warwick corvette std fot just 400 euro ($ 585.72)
    while at musicians friend it costs 819.49 ($1,199.99)
    it has been for sale since 2006.

As a beginner i have no idea what i should check, investigate or
    test. And i don't want to end up with a crummy bass wich starts
    falling apart after 2 months (like my previous bass)

so, any tips?

14516904-warwick-corvette-standard.

2. first, one is ash, one is bubinga. bubinga is ballsy and low, ash is clear and bright. with Warwick, you will hear that sound difference. you will. end of. play both. I prefer the cheaper ash model myself, I know a lot who'd love a bubinga one. sound is sound, but listen, that one difference is vast.

3. TheBasicBassist

TheBasicBassist

Jan 8, 2009
    Newark, DE
    Endorsing Artist: Rosado Guitars
    i LOVE my ash 'wick, but the bubinga sounds way different. with the neck pup blown and the treble cut you can get a nice vintage precision tone. IMO.

4. rimtism123

rimtism123

Mar 25, 2009
    Birmingham, AL
    Also, the bubinga is the dark brown colored and twice as heavy one. That one also has active puckups, while the Ash has passive. Personally, I chose the Ash.

I would say go for this..because that price is a good deal IMO.