advice on cab for ampeg svt3 pro

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by leafthrob, Apr 20, 2005.

1. I'm new to amps and not much of a gear head, but, I will be acquiring an ampeg SVT3 PRO and, well I'm gonna need to hook it up to something. Can anyone recommend a reasonably priced cab, or rather the specs for a cab that will accomodate for maximum volume from the head? My style of playing involves the use of distortion pedals (big muffs) and I also use a frostwave filter, mainly for it's osclators, so the frequency range is quite broad. It would also need to be relatively easy to lugg around (ie I'm thinking of a 4 X 10").

Also, the head has two 1/4 speaker output jacks (parallel). Is it possible to connect a cab to each of these two o/p's at the same time (told you I was new to this). Am I correct in assuming that the cabs would need to have a minimum impedance of 8 Ohms each?

Some specs for the head include 450 Watts RMS at 4 ohm and 275 Watts at 8 Ohms. Your advice would be greatly appreciated.
  2. TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    Well, it depends on if you want one cabs or two when you decide if you want an 8ohm or 4ohm cab.

If you get a 4ohm cab, your stuck with it, and you cant add any more cabs. With this in mind... I highly suggest getting a pair of 8ohm cabs, because if you get stuck in a situation where you need major volume, you're really gonna wanna have as much volume as you can, and speaker surface has a lot to do with volume.... even moreso than power.

Those cabs are very cheap, but are VERY good quality. To a search for them on the forums, and you'll find a massive amount of people who use Avatar bass cabs.

For the maximum volume, I'd recommend the B212 and the B410Pro, both in 8ohms.... however, it depends on if you want 2 full-sized cabs, or if you even want two cabs at all. If you just want a single 4ohm cab... definately get the B212, because its the most balanced cab of the bunch.

Good luck. :)
  3. johnvice