1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Advice on how to avoid hitting pickups while playing the E string.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Darqual, Oct 11, 2013.

1. Darqual

Darqual

Aug 3, 2013
    I am a fairly new bass player, i've been playing for about 2 months now. What i have noticed is that when i pluck my E-string, the string hits the pickup and makes kind of a popping noise. Do I need to changed my technique or is there another common cause to this? All Advice appreciated!!!:)

2. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
    You could lower the pickup.

3. Darqual

Darqual

Aug 3, 2013
    Im kinda new to bass, could you tell me how?

4. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
  5. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    Massachusetts
    Also make sure you're pluck across the string, not down on top of it.

6. Darqual

Darqual

Aug 3, 2013
    Ill try both ideas!

7. If you adjust the pickup, I recommend pressing down on slightly it while you turn the screw.

8. Darqual

Darqual

Aug 3, 2013
    Ok I will, is this to prevent stripping the screws on the pickup?

9. ddhm

ddhm

Mar 18, 2011
    Memphis Tn USA
    Welcome to the low end.

It could be that you are plucking in the wrong direction if you are using your fingers and having that problem. You should be plucking across the strings (or so I've been told...works for me). Plucking towards the body could be an issue. Could also be that you are playing too hard or it might be both? If it's a pick thing, you'll probably want to lower the pick up if your "action" is correct. All of that could also be incorrect. There is just no way to know without at the very least least seeing pretty good pics. I'll change gears a bit.