Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advice on New Gear...Ampeg, SWR, GK, Experienced players post opinions Please

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by burtonisalive, Mar 19, 2006.

1. I am trying to do as much research into gear before I buy it. Anyway, I am interested in purchasing one of three Heads that are in my price range

GK 1001RB-2 700/50 Watt Bi Amp
    Ampeg SVT 3-Pro
    SWR 550X Head

Also, I am looking into a couple of different 410s

Ampeg SVT 410 HLF (4 Ohms)

Any advice? Best pairing ideas? Any other suggestions? Thanks.

2. TJmccreedy2183

TJmccreedy2183

Mar 2, 2006
    I use to have a Ampeg Svt 4pro and i recently got rid of it to buy a SWR 550x. even though i've never tried a GK before i really perferred the sound on the SWR for the reason that i was going up against two loud guitarist and the SWR just cut through perfectly with enough clarity and warmth. It was exactly what i was looking for man. Right now i'm running it througha Ampeg 410HE 8 ohms and it sound killer so i can just imagine how it would sound like with the HLF. But in the end buddy it all depends on the type of sound you're looking for cause all three of those amps have 3 totally diferent sounds and styles. Hope this helps man. let me know. Thanks

3. sedan_dad

sedan_dad Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2006
    Mudsock,Ohio
    I have a SVT 3p and really like it.It seems to have a way range of tones.I haven't run out of power.
    I use a lot of low end in a rocking blues band.
    In all fairness I do not have any first hand experance with the other models you mention.I have tried the SWR 350x but ended up buying the Ampeg.

4. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT