Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Advice on strings

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Alvaro Martín Gómez A., Mar 9, 2005.

1. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hi everybody.

I'm a regular visitor to the bass guitar forums, but this is my first post to the DB side. My main instrument is the bass guitar, not because I dislike the double bass, but because there are not so many choices to work with the double bass here (see my profile).

I studied DB with a Polish master. I played Hoffmeister, Dragonetti, the Koussevitzky miniatures... I bought my DB like six years ago to a friend and I don't have any info about the instrument.

I'm posting this because recently, I saw the "Brian Setzer Orchestra Live In Japan" video and I was fascinated with Mark Winchester's playing. I've never seen that slapping technique before and I want to learn about it. I've been visiting www.rockabillybass.com and they say that steel strings (that's whay I have) are not the best for the style, so I'm looking for advice on the best strings for slapping, hoping they don't have any "negative" effect on "regular" playing's sound, being pizzicato or arco. Again, I had a classical training and also have some gigs with the DB (BTW, next week I'm going to play Claude Bolling's suite for flute and jazz piano trio at an important auditorium in my town. I'm very excited about it).

Thank you very much in advance.

2. Hola Alvaro,

First, get yourself a slap dvd like Lee Rocker's or Pete Turland's (try eBay) to learn the technique.

Then, you might need an adjustable bridge, a lot of slap players prefer to raise the string action to slap.