Advice on what tutorial to start out with

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by fnp5150, Oct 6, 2017.

1. fnp5150

fnp5150

Sep 18, 2017
    Valdosta,GA
    Ok, so I have what I need to get started learning to play bass and I've been watching numerous internet/YouTube based methods of instruction, but I would like some opinions from other's who've gone this route. I don't want to skip around doodling with 3-4 different instructors, I hope to pick the right one to start with. Private instruction is very lacking in my area, so that's out. I want something that will teach me in a way that will give me a good foundation to build on, such as learning to read bass lines and scales. On the other hand, I don't need a PhD in theory, and I would like to be taught to play songs (easy ones) earlier than later. I have many years of structured music experience due to playing the sax in jazz bands, but I need to translate it to the bass. Treating myself as a complete newbie, because thinking like a bass player and reading bass clef is completely different than what I'm used to. What have you guys tried that provided a good, well rounded instructional method, and most importantly, has a easy to navigate and use web site/channel? TalkingBass and TeachMeBassGuitar are 2 that I have read the most about, any experience with those? Any others?

Last edited: Oct 6, 2017
  2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Scotts Bass Lessons gets a lot of praise around here. If you do a search, you'll find threads about it. As for "being taught to play songs..." it would be much more beneficial to listen closely to the bass lines in simple songs (to start with) and try to copy/play along using your ear..and trial and error.

Online Bass Lessons - Scott's Bass Lessons

A book worth checking out (your local library might have it ) is "Bass Guitar for Dummies".