1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice please for an older newbie

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fourstringbliss, Feb 24, 2008.

1. fourstringbliss

fourstringbliss Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2003
    Puyallup, WA
    I've been playing bass for about six years - but unlike the 18 year old who started when they were 12, I'm a 38 year old who started when I was 32. I've been married for 8 years and chose not to pursue being part of a band partly because of marriage and also because of my age. I've been able to play at my church, but that's about it. In addition to this, we have started having kids later than most - I'm 38 and my first kid is less than 2. Finally, I work full time.

I feel like I've missed my shot! I really wish that I had started when I was younger so I could be in a few bands and get in a lot of playing time before having a family – now I feel like I’ve lost my opportunity. I know there are older guys playing in bands – give me advice! What should I be doing now? What kind of opportunities for playing with others are there that don’t take a lot away from family time?

EDIT: I should clarify something I think. I know I'm past the point where I could join a punk band and tour in a van (I know Mike Watt could, but I'm not Mike Watt). I just want to know that there are opportunities for older players to gig and get out there and play. I don't want to come off like a whiner - it's just a case of remorse over lost younger years.

2. justBrian

justBrian

Apr 19, 2002
    Kansas City, MO
    I'm 48 and have been playing for 9 years. My kids were a bit older than yours when I started--my son graduated from high school last year and my daughter is now a sophomore. I don't think it's too late for you.