Advice please: To buy/not buy a custom build!?!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by El Slap, May 10, 2012.

1. El Slap

El Slap

Oct 8, 2011
    East Bay, CA
    Hey TB community,

Since forming a reggae band a year ago, I've been looking at 5ers - I've been a 4-string player all of my 9 years of playing - and I've come across a cool custom built bass in my area. Obviously, I'm going to play it before I even think of handing over any cash, but seeing as I have limited knowledge of hardware, and since it's a custom build, I have no reference point to price it. Of course, some will say, "how much is the bass worth to you", but my point - I don't want to get ripped off.

Any advice for what to look for/ask about would be greatly appreciated. The asking price is $900 and below are some of the specs. Any and all advice is much appreciated, so thank you in advance.

-El

Specs:
    Burl poplar top, mahogany back, rosewood fretboard
    Neck through, string through
    35" scale, 26 frets
    Ceramic and steel soapbar pickups, slight angle on neck pickup - tilts towards the bridge on the low strings
    Active electronics with passive toggle

2. TheEmptyCell

TheEmptyCell Bearded Dingwall Enthusiast Supporting Member

Jul 16, 2005
    Los Angeles, CA
    Play it and see what you think. If it plays like it's worth $900 and you feel like you'll bond with it, then get it. Just give it a good once over and make sure there are no obvious flaws, and then get in touch with the builder, see what he has to say about it, e.g. original cost, special features, etc.

3. phillybass101

phillybass101

Jan 12, 2011
    Artist, Trickfish Amplification Bartolini Emerging Artist, MTD Kingston Emerging Artist. Artist, Tsunami Cables
    if I were in a reggae band, I'd get a 5 string P-Bass. You could do some damage.

4. CORBS

CORBS

Dec 28, 2010