Advice regarding my American Deluxe P

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tbeers, Oct 22, 2005.

1. Tbeers

Mar 27, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Hey, I just bought a new bass (should be arriving sometime late next week) and it occurred to me I might try to sell my current one (American Deluxe P). The problem is, I think there are some problems with the electronics, and I am no expert so I can't speak too well about the state of the neck.

The electronics problem is the following. For months I had this issue where the closer I moved my fingers to the pickups, the louder hum-type noise they would make. But if I touched anything metal on the instrument, the hum would go away. That issue actually has not happened for months and months, though. It still concerns me and I wouldn't want to sell the instrument without knowing everything was fine. Any ideas as to what the problem might be?

One other electronics issue.... The volume knob works fine, the one that changes the pickup balance works fine, the stacked treble/mid works fine, but the bass knob is all messed up. It turns way too easily, doesn't seem to do anything, and often makes loud popping noises when I adjust it while the amp is on. This has been so annoying, it is one reason I decided to just get a new bass. Any clues as to what's going on?

Last but not least I just don't know how to evaluate the neck. It looks fine and seems to play fine, it feels fine.... But BG necks scare the heck out of me, as someone who primarily plays DB I'm the type of guy who is scared even to touch the truss rod. In fact in the several years I have owned the instrument, the only adjustment it has had has been in the shop (pretty infrequently). Last year I had a new nut made for the instrument... it seems to be of pretty high quality, in fact it seems to be made out of bone or something.