Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by weeblandbob, Nov 6, 2005.

1. weeblandbob

weeblandbob

May 21, 2005
    hey everyone
    ive been playing bass for a couple of years, but i've only got a yamaha and i was planning on getting a new bass
    can anyone give me advice on a good, cheap bass?

2. Actually, I think that a Yamaha is indeed a good, cheap bass...

3. jazzbassist

jazzbassist

Aug 1, 2005
    MEXICAN FENDER JAZZ

4. Jonki

Jonki I will not slap my Bee!

Oct 14, 2003
    Arendal, Norway
    whats your budget?

if you got 700$, go for a Geddy!

5. look for a musicman sub with active pups that is a great cheaper bass.

6. Fender Jazz or P are always nice basses on the cheap.

7. punkmetal

punkmetal Guest

Jul 19, 2005
    WI (milwaukee area)
    whats your style?
    whats your price range?
    what kind or yamaha do you have?
    what exactly are you looking for in your next bass?
    4, 5 or even a 6 string???

the list goes on and on

8. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

These are good questions that can help us give you a better recommendation.

That said, I'm going to go out on a limb and assume that you are looking for:

* Something that is versatile enough to fit into a variety of musical genres.
    * Something that will cost less than $500.
    * Something "middle of the road" style-wise.
    * A 4-string.

Based on my assumptions, I'd suggest a Fender Jazz MIM (Made in Mexico.)

9. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups