1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Affordable five-string with p-bass tone?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by hrodbert696, Oct 21, 2010.

1. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Hey everyone, just taking a quick survey here. I play a Washburn Taurus 5-string, which has more of a jazz-pickup design. I like playing the five strings but I'm thinking of getting a second bass with more of that low p-bass tone. Looking at Fender, I notice that they do this with an American Standard p-bass V at $1300 new, but all their other fivers are jazzes. Most other companies seem to go with jazz-type pickups on their fivers.

I'm a hobbyist of limited means so I was wondering if anyone could recommend anything comparable with less of a price tag attached (apart from hoping someone out there has a used AS precision-V for sale). Something that might be $600-800 new, or proportionately less used.

2. StuartV

StuartV Finally figuring out what I really like Supporting Member

Jul 27, 2006
    Manassas, VA
  3. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
    + on the yamaha, you can get a good kind of P tone on a Jazz by soloing the neck pickup.

4. john_g

john_g Supporting Member

Sep 14, 2007
    Pennsylvania
    Ill throw one out, how about a G&L L2500? (either a new Tribute model or used US model) It can approximate a P bass tone, plus tons of other tones, and even the Tribute models are very well made. I love mine and I got it used here on TB for around $400.

5. steve_rolfeca

steve_rolfeca Supporting Member

The Yamaha is a great affordable five.