Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

After 30+ Years, I'm A Newbie Again!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Craig Garfinkel, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Craig Garfinkel

Craig Garfinkel

Aug 25, 2000
    Hartford, CT
    Endorsing Artist: Sadowsky Guitars
    Well, I went and gone and done it. Disregarding all common sense and good judgement ( do you have to actually possess something in order to disregard it? :meh: ), after 32 years or so of attempting to become somewhat proficient on the "slab", I have decided that now is the time to embark on a journey that will find me at it's conclusion either a "real" bassist...or a broken and embittered, financially destitute, half-crazed blithering idiot with giant callouses. Some may argue there's not much of a difference...but I digress.

Thanks to DZ, I am now the proud owner of a Shen SB80, my very first double bass. :D Don gave me an awesome price, mostly due to it being somewhat "cosmetically challenged". Some yahoo made quite possibly the worst attempt at refinishing I've ever seen, but it actually isn't as bad as Don described it. From a distance it looks fine, and it isn't until you get real close that you notice all the brush marks and realize it smells kinda funny. But hey, I've known some very fine people I could say the same thing about.