1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Age and maker of my bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Glen1, Jan 10, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Glen1

Glen1

Jan 10, 2018
    Hi, folks. I'm new here...
    I have been playing electric bass since I turned 50 (14 years) but recently acquired an upright bass. There are no identifying marks on it that I can find, but I'm wondering if anyone can give me any idea how to determine its age or perhaps its maker. I attached a picture of the headstock, but I can easily attach other pics, I just don't know what is necessary for the purpose. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. jmpiwonka

jmpiwonka

Jun 11, 2002
    looks like it's a bass that's gonna need some serious work.

post pics from far enough away so that we can see the shape of the bass front and rear, close up pics of the neck joint at the body, and the rear of the scroll.
    a good pic of the f-holes too and a good pic of the side...

3. Glen1

Glen1

Jan 10, 2018
    Here ya go...
    And yes, it is in need of a lot of tlc. I got it for almost nothing. My main purpose is to determine whether I am really interested in playing an upright. If I find that I am, then I will be in the market for something in a bit (lot?) better shape.

Attached Files:

Cheez likes this.
  4. RSBBass

RSBBass

Jun 11, 2011
    NYC
    The problem is if this bass needs a lot of work it is unlikely to give you a good experience playing upright unless you commit to the repairs. Depending on what the bass is and the nature, and cost, of the repairs, you may not be able to get back the cost when you sell.

5. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

Apr 2, 2013
    Tennessee
    Quite right. In its present condition, I would have no interest in playing that particular instrument.

RSBBass likes this.
  6. That's a real weirdo. Looks homespun. Where did you find it?

7. Steve Boisen