"age is just a number"

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by smitcat, Oct 19, 2005.

1. smitcat

Aug 5, 2003
    Ithaca, NY
    I have yet to contribute an in depth thread on anything here at tb, but the experience i had at my last gig made me want to say something.
    As a background to the story, I started playing music about 4 years ago, while in college. I basically just messed around until a couple of guys got ahold of me through a musicfinder.com website of sorts. I was 19 or 20, and going through my nu-metal phase, and was hoping that it would be a couple of younger guys that wanted to rock.
    I went to their practice space, which was the drummers house, and dropped my gear off for a late practice. It turned out the drummer was in his 40's and guitarist, his 30's. I didn't know what to think, but decided to go with it anyways.
    At the time i had no musical training whatsoever, i didn't even know what a major scale looked like. I learned to play by ear, and by playing with them. In fact, up until a year ago, I always just played by tab and by ear.
    But as I decided to stick it out, our drummer did not, and left. We have had drummers to fill in for gigs, which has been an amazing experience in itself. Some drummers just keep the beat, while others try to make the songs their own. Which enters into my main part of the story...
    While we were practicing one day (guitar and bass) my guitarist mentioned that he had a couple drummers that may be interested for an upcoming gig, since our main fill in was already booked. He threw a few names at me including one, that of a high school aged kid. I had no problems with it, and we decided to ask him to come up and jam. He is a busy kid with a few other bands, High school, and a jazz band, so we picked a night which worked.