Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Aguilar AG500 of ThunderFunk Help!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dmrogers, Jan 27, 2005.

1. dmrogers

dmrogers Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2005
    Eastman, GA
    This is a very informative forum and the post on the "ThunderFunk TF420 vs the AG500" is the post that I was looking for. I have been interested in the Aguilar DB750 for some time now, and was planning on buying one during 2005. I have always loved the "tube sound" hence my decision to get the DB750, besides I wanted to try out a really high-end head before I pass on.
    Currently, I am playing an Ampeg SVT 3 Pro through an Aguilar GS112 and I really like the sound. I recently started playing with a three piece group at a cafe. We do really old songs with a bluegrass/folk type flavor. Lots of tunes by Tony Rice, Jerry Garcia, traditional bluegrass, singer/songwriter type stuff etc.... We play relatively low volume due to the atmosphere and acoustics. However I still play other types of music and set in with different types of groups.
    My last group was a three piece blues/jam (Gov't Mule, Allmans, SRV, Derek Trucks) band. I played the SVT through a 4x12.

Now my question:
    The AG500 really peaked my interest. Imagine a light Aguilar head to go with my GS112 with tube tone. Could it be? Then I found this forum, and started reading about the AG500 and ThunderFunk. After years of playing through Ampeg and really old Fender Bassman heads could I make the transition to the AG500 or ThunderFunk. I do like the SVT sound and can get what I want through either of the three cabs that I have. But I gotta have one of these solid state heads! In fact, my interest in the DB750 has passed, I love the idea of a lightweight head with no tubes to worry about. The question is:

Which one?

I plan on purchasing another GS112 to go with the one I currently have.