1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Aguilar AG500 SC + (Aguilar, Epifani, EA, etc?)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pedroferreira, Sep 15, 2008.

1. pedroferreira

pedroferreira

Feb 10, 2003
    Portugal
    Hi

I have a Sadowsky RV5 which is my main bass and had be using for the last years an AG500 SC with an EA Cxl-112.
    The cabinet ( @ solo) sounds very raw and a bit nasal, but in a band context it cuts like nothing else (and I like that except when slapping which is a bit bright )
    I'm a professional freelancer who does a lot of different things.
    Now I'm working with a band which is doing a lot of outdoor shows so I thought of buying a bigger cab. And I thought that a 4x10 would be perfect for that. (despite the Cxl I love big bottom, but with definition).
    I tried a friend's Aguilar GS410 (8 ohm) that I liked a lot; so I ordered a GS410 @ 4 ohm for that big gigs.
    When the cab arrived I was a bit disappointed. The sound appeared different from my friend's cab. There is an inherent low mid boost (that I think is between 180-250Hz) that I particularly don't like. And the AG500 Mid Frequencies are 400 and 800, and can't attenuate that frequency.
    I know we usually take some time to get used to new gear, but it has passed a few months and I'm regretting my choice, because of that kind of "annoying" (IMO) bump and the weight of the cabinet. I usually don't have roadies (at least when I am loading or unloading my car at home) and 98lbs is a little bit to much.

So I decided to sell the cab and find another.

My first choice is the UL410.
    A friend of mine has one (S1) and lent it, for me to try at a gig.

First thing: This thing is LIGHT. Very Light.
    Second: It plays very LOUD.