1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Aguilar OBP-3 to DIY Preamp Pedal

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by theTinkerer, Nov 29, 2017.

1. theTinkerer

theTinkerer

Mar 7, 2017
    Long-time reader, first-time poster.

I have a bass-less preamp lying around that I want to convert to a pedal with 3PDT switch and LED. I have VERY LITTLE experience with this type of stuff, but I did some research and altered the schematic with my best uneducated guess.

Did I plan this correctly? Any advice would be super appreciated. Thanks!

Original Schematic

v-t-msw-b_zpsmnodlmyz.

Altered Schematic (grayed-out parts didn't change)

OPB-3%20to%20True%20Bypass%20Pedal%20with%20LED_zpsvclbpuhu.

Any fatal flaws?

Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
  2. The attachments are not working, for me.

3. theTinkerer

theTinkerer

Mar 7, 2017
    My bad. Should be fixed now.

4. I see a few issues.

Firstly, you have the volume pot wired backwards. The wiper terminal should be the output, not the input. You only wire volume pots the way you have shown when there are multiple volume pots in the circuit, because that is the only way to make them work independently of each other. That kind of wiring compromises the taper of the pot, and should be avoided whenever possible.

Secondly, it is traditional to have stompboxes switched on/off by the insertion of a cable in the input jack, rather than the output jack. You don't have to follow this tradition if you don't want to, but it adds confusion to the process of powering up/down, and if your rig is ever used by someone else, then they probably won't know about your nonstandard choices, and leave the pedal powered up.