Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Aguilar OBP-3. Which to get for my 'wick?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by ikickuintheballs, Dec 16, 2003.

1. Hey guys. I'm thinking about changing my MEC preamp to the aguilar obp-3. I have a corvette std 5-string. It has a volume knob, pick up fader knob, and bass/treble stack. Which preamp set should I get, since I see there's a whole bunch with different wires for everything? I'm a newbie with this stuff, so take it easy on me. ;) Thanks!

2. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    There's only one version of the obp-3, just as there's only one version of the obp-1 so it's not a question of which obp-3 to buy - it's more which wiring config do you want.

I have an obp-3 in my thumb5 - you can order them prewired from www.bestbassgear.com in most configs.

I have vol/vol, mid, bass/treble knobs with mid freq select switch in the cavity. I nearly always boost low mids at the amp level, so I generally have the mid freq switch set to 800hz so I can cut mids for slap.

3. jivetkr

jivetkr

May 15, 2002
    NJ
    If you could find a stacked volume/blend pot then you wouldnt need to drill any more holes.

With the stacked vol/blend your configuration would be :

stacked volume/blend
    push/pull mid pot (down is 400hz & up is 800hz)
    stacked bass/treble

If you didnt want to use the push/pull mid pot (as it doesnt have a center detent), you could drill a small hole for the mid freq switch & just use a standard pot with a center detent.

4. Doh. I meant which wiring configuration should I get. I want to keep the stock knob setup, and not drill any holes or anything.