Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

aguilar - qsc - bergantino ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jacove, Feb 21, 2004.

1. jacove

jacove

Apr 12, 2003
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Hi there,

I'm running a Aguilar db680 pre-amp into a QSC 3402 power amp with a Bergantino HT322. I'm a bit new to this rig so I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I'm running 1100w in one stereo channel. First of all I'm not sure how much the Berg will be able to handle. I've started by running the QSC all the way up and then set the gain on the pre-amp around 10.00 and the master around 1-2 o'clock. It just doesn't seem loud enough for some gigs. On the QSC the Signal light is on and -20 db flashes when playing. Should I crank the pre-amp (master/gain?) some more?. I know the Berg is 750w RMS, but is this the peak of the cab? In the past I've used Ampeg 6x10 and it has 600w RMS but a peak on 1200w. Does the Berg also have a higher peak than the rated 750w? :bassist:

2. You should have plenty of power even from a single channel of that setup, but if you're only lighting the -20 LEDs it sounds like you could stand to run a stronger signal into the amp. What kind of bass are you using, and have you got the selector set to "active" on the Aggie?

Remember, the DB680 manual states "nine times out of ten you'll use the passive input".

Only the very hottest of active basses seem to need the input switch set to active.

3. jacove

jacove

Apr 12, 2003
    Aalborg, Denmark
    When I used my Ampeg SVT-Cl I never had any volume problems, this was only 300 watts, but shouldn't a 1100 solid state seem just as loud. Do you think the Bergantino will be a great match with the SVT-cl.?

4. jacove

jacove

Apr 12, 2003
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Oddio,

I use a Musicman Sterling and use the passive intput. I'm just a bit afraid of putting too much presure on the cab.