AH to many insturments, I need some help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MR.Smash, Jul 9, 2005.

1. MR.Smash

Jul 9, 2005
    Elmira, On
    (skip to the question if your not interested in the story its down there)

Ok heres the story, I'm an acomplished drummer I've been playing for 2 years, I've played in a band the last year after, concert band, blah blah all that crap.... now I have chosen music to be career so to speak (teaching, recording, whereever it takes me because I love it) But to truly understand the music you create/play/listen to I believe you should understand at least the fundimentals of each insturment....
    I'm currently in the process of learning 5 more insturments besides drums, (BASS, Guitar, Steel drums, Piano(theroy), Viola) now although the guys in my band are no less then amazing they simply dont have time to teach me what i need to know so as i did with drums im finding ways to learn myself. The most imidieate inturment im learning of course is bass.
    .......I need help
    it has recently come to my attention that most things tabbed anywhere are infact wrong, my problem is i rely on tabs to learn material for the bass, this is a habit that i need to break.

MY QUESTION IS (or rather request for advice is)

How do I go about learning the notes of the fret board?

I did a search and i came up with this fret2fret thing that sounds absolutly rediculous, as a drummer even im dis-inclined to believe that only 5% of the Guitarests/Bassists actually know the fret board

anyways any information, links, pics, diagrams, theroy lectures.... would be greatly appretiated
  2. bonscottvocals

Feb 10, 2005
    Upstate NY
    Play the note and sing it at the same time. Start chromatically, by playing the bottom string (closest to your face when holding the bass), and plucking the E and sing the note "Eeeeh". Then fret the first fret and sing "F", and keep going all the way up the board. Then do the same on the next string and so on.