Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

AI Focus! It's no lightweight!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by NeedMoreBass, Jul 16, 2004.

1. NeedMoreBass

NeedMoreBass unregistered

Feb 14, 2003
    I've had my Acoustic Image Focus over a week now and am amazed that there have been very few comments about this amazing amp. If you aren't familiar with it you need to check it out. It weighs 4 lbs and pumps out 600 watts @ 4 ohms. I've been playing WW amps for over 20 years and presently own 2 Ultras and each day that passes since I've owned the Focus it is becoming my favorite amp. Don't get me wrong, I love my WW, but there is something about the Focus that really gives me what I want in my tone. It also blew away my iAmp 800. I'm presently using it with either a EA VL108 or VL208 and it is punchy as all get out using a passive J Bass. It doesn't sound very good however with my CXL cabs and the WW does a better job with those, but the tone I'm looking for is in the Focus/VL combination. I imagine the Focus would also sound great with the Berg 12's and I'm anxious to check it out. I've started this post for other Focus users because I know you're out there. Chime in!! :bassist:

2. Wilbyman

Wilbyman

Sep 10, 2003
    Parkersburg, WV
    Oh yesh, this is stoking me on the Focus. Do tell, do tell.

3. basss

basss

Aug 27, 2001
    NYC
    Why didn't it play well with the CXL cabs?

4. NeedMoreBass

Feb 14, 2003
    Oh yeah you Clarus users, you're not ready for this thing!!

5. NeedMoreBass

Feb 14, 2003
    The CXL Cabs tend to be midrangey and for whatever reason the Fous did not match up well. The VL208's are very true sounding cabs and I think I'm getting a very good represenatation of what the amp and the bass really sounds like.

6. Wilbyman

Wilbyman

Sep 10, 2003
    Parkersburg, WV