Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

AI Focus

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by NeedMoreBass, Jul 16, 2004.

1. NeedMoreBass

NeedMoreBass unregistered

Feb 14, 2003
    I've had my Acoustic Image Focus over a week now and am amazed that there have been very few comments about this amazing amp. If you aren't familiar with it you need to check it out. It weighs 4 lbs and pumps out 600 watts @ 4 ohms. I've been playing WW amps for over 20 years and presently own 2 Ultras and each day that passes since I've owned the Focus it is becoming my favorite amp. Don't get me wrong, I love my WW, but there is something about the Focus that really gives me what I want in my tone. It also blew away my iAmp 800. I'm presently using it with either a EA VL108 or VL208 and it is punchy as all get out using a passive J Bass. It doesn't sound very good however with my CXL cabs and the WW does a better job with those, but the tone I'm looking for is in the Focus/VL combination. I imagine the Focus would also sound great with the Berg 12's and I'm anxious to check it out. I've started this post for other Focus users because I know you're out there. Chime in!!

2. j.s.basuki

j.s.basuki Supporting Member

May 14, 2000
    asia/australia
    Which one do you have ? Focus 1,2 ,1R or 2 R ?
    Is it sound warmer than Clarus ? Thanks

3. NeedMoreBass

NeedMoreBass unregistered

Feb 14, 2003
    I have the Focus I. I'd have to put them side by side to determine if it's warmer or not, but it is definitely a tighter punchier sound, yet still very warm.

4. hensonbass

hensonbass Supporting Member

Feb 25, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    I played a show with my new Focus rig last night and the sound was so effortless I couldn't believe it.