Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

AI head vs. EA head vs. QSC amp

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by JJBluegrasser, Apr 17, 2003.

1. JJBluegrasser

JJBluegrasser Wannabe Snazzy Dresser

Apr 17, 2003
    USA, Raleigh, NC
    Hi all,
    This is my first post on this board, so I hope it's not a stupid one:D

I am looking to build an amp for my upright (1962 Johan Rauner plywood). I have been playing bluegrass in a band for 2 years, so I've not really needed an amp. I've just been going direct into the house when we play. I recently started playing with a drummer in another project, and I just can't get my bass to sound good through the Hartke Kickback 15 I've always used for my electric bass (I know why the Hartke doesn't sound good, now I just need to replace it).

I am currently thinking of using my Fishman bass pro-eq preamp into a QSC 1450 PA amp, into either an EA or a Bergantino 2x10 cabinet. If I want that pure uncolored tone at all frequencies we're all after, isn't a PA amp the best way to go? Why would anyone use a custom bass head instead? I'm really new to this whole amp thing, so this may be a dumb question. Will I lose anything by not using an EA iAMP or AI Clarus head instead? I need to get volume sometimes, but tone and that 'real' upright sound all the time.

Also, does anyone have any thoughts on comparing the two cabinents I just mentioned?

Thanks so much for your time. Happy thumpin'!

Jason

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY