1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Air Compressor/Gun/Finishin Help needed

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by DougP, Jun 25, 2007.

1. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    i beseech thee oh great finishing experts to bestow your blessings of knowledge on this unwary fool.

let me preface this with: i have no knowledge of using compressors or using finishes that require spraying guns.

i have bought a Kobalt 26 gallon, 1.5 HP compressor to learn on. it came with some basic tools that i am sure are adequate but not great. that's fine, i'll learn what works and what is important before i blow a lot of money.

on top of using it to inflate tires, blow out the shop, and doing some light grinding i'd like to use this to lay down some finishes on bass/guitar bodies and necks. will this compressor handle an application of this sort?

The spray gun that was included is a "latex" gun. will this work for spraying laquers and polys?

right now, i dont even know what questions to ask. i was going to buy some laquer from stew mac and just play around with scrap wood.

are there any video tutorials that i can check out? i've found a couple of articles on finewoodworking.com that are helping a bit.

thanks a bunch,
    Doug