1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Alder vs Ash

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DinoRock, Feb 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. DinoRock

DinoRock

Mar 26, 2015
    New York State
    I know what I like when I play it, yet I would like to understand why many/most basses are made of alder or ash and what the difference is.

If you would, while I've played professionally at a very high end for a decade or more 40+ years ago, and now work semi-professionally, I have no knowledge of woods, construction (other than bolt on vs neck through), whatever. So, I'd appreciate at the start of this thread if you don't make assumptions just because I've been playing for a long time.

This is just an idle curiosity issue for me as I use what I like. FYI, about 1/2 of my basses are Fender American. The other half range from Ric, to Aria, to Ibanez, and so on. Basses are as early as 1974 and as recent as 2015. I'm the original owner on almost all. I do also have two MIM Fenders.

Thanks!

12BitSlab and Ian Perge like this.
  2. blmeier7

blmeier7 Supporting Member

May 7, 2006
    Amarillo, TX
    There are a lot of threads here on TB regarding this exact subject. I'd suggest a quick search and you'll find enough info to keep you busy reading for a few hours.

Ash vs Alder - tone, weight, and appearance are the three characteristics that come to mind.

DinoRock likes this.
  3. Bob_Ross

Bob_Ross Gold Supporting Member

Dec 29, 2012
    I suspect economics and/or availability are also important factors in why those two species are the most popular.

Picton, AaronVonRock and blmeier7 like this.
  4. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    Leo calls a wood supplier: "I need a relatively inexpensive wood to build guitar bodies. What do you have?"

Wood Salesman: "I got alder and swamp ash."

Leo: "Good. Send me a truckload."