1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Alembic question for you experts

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ledyard, Jul 20, 2012.

1. ledyard

ledyard

Jan 31, 2010
    Upstate NY
    I have always wanted a Spoiler or persuader. I now have cash in hand for the right one.

I am suddenly under the impression that these are all 1.75" nut width? Is this true?

This would royally suck if so.

2. I am no expert, and maybe I'm missing something, but aren't all Alembics custom basses? Couldn't you just ask for the width at the nut that you would prefer? I'm sure they have some wiggle room in their design, right?

3. ledyard

ledyard

Jan 31, 2010
    Upstate NY
    Well obviously I'm talking about vintage alembic stuff. Not custom ordering but I guess you could have a point.

I just figured unless custom ordered there was probably a standard width offered.

4. abngourmet

abngourmet Gold Supporting Member

Nov 11, 2004
    USA
    Neck widths at the nut can vary, as each instrument is different in some ways. It all depends. My first Alembic was a Spoiler-Exploiter (an Explorer type body with Spoiler electronics), and I don't recall it being that wide (I would have noticed as I don't like 1.75" Precision style nut widths for the most part). Best thing to do is to play one if possible, or, if thinking of purchasing one ask the owner to measure the width at the nut before plunking down cash.

5. ledyard

ledyard

Jan 31, 2010
    Upstate NY
    Thats what I did today. I was going to make a deal with a guy for the Custom Blue one on Ebay but he got back to me with a 1.75" nut width....:mad:

6. FC Bass

FC Bass Alembic and Mesa/Boogie junkie

Jun 9, 2006
    Holland
    Spoilers and Persuaders came with what now known is as the "Classic taper" nut = 1.75 12th fret = 2.25