Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Alexander Technique

Discussion in 'Off Topic [DB]' started by myrick, Oct 28, 2002.

1. anyone ever done it ? Did it help with any bass-related physical compaints? Did it help your playing ? How long did it take for results ?

For those who don't know what this is, I am no expert, just considering trying it. A search on the net will turn up plenty of articles and websites, but most commentators seem to agree that to understand what it really is and how it works, it is better to experience it firsthand than to read or listen to an explanation. In short, its a kind of posture adjustment and movement and body awareness training.

Anyway, I've found a certified instructor near me, and am curious to hear of other bass players experiences.

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I can't recommend it highly enough. I'm thinking about looking into what it would take to get myself trained and certified as a teacher.

Also, I'm not an easy sell.

If you want to buzz me on the phone some time, feel free. I don't have to energy/patience to give my full schpiel via type, but I'd be happy to talk to you about it. You can find my contact info at my web site...

3. Quite literally, Alexander Technique has changed my life.
    I am about to begin training to be certified as an AT teacher.
    It's true, articulating the AT experience is almost impossible, like trying to explain the color red to someone who can't see.