1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

all-out bass mods

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by danswon, Apr 26, 2006.

1. danswon

danswon

Apr 26, 2006
    hi m'name's dan this is my first post, may not be in the right section exactly... bass-ically (sorry) i'm a guitarist been playing for quite a while but i've always played the bass too but never got round to buying one myself

i just found a cheap-looking old Encore p-bass copy, is just like a p-bass in all features and dimensions, but its in a terrible state... so im going to upgrade everything... and i wondered if there's anyone knowledgable about the best way to go for:

- what kind of nut
    -whats thje best bridge replacement
    - best pickup replacement
    -good cheap tuners
    - nice strings that arent too expensive

and what gauge strings would be ideal for just general hard rock pick-style? dont want anything too thick or thin... s'pose im asking what gauge strings all basses just come with

there must be a fair few of you who've taken a cheap p-bass copy and juiced it up so any advice would be more than welcome!

thanks!

2. dave120

dave120

Jun 27, 2005
    Central Florida
    Bone or brass nut (brass is nice, but more expensive)
    Gotoh 201 or BadAss II bridge (both pretty good)
    Seymour Duncan 1/4 lb P pickup
    Mighty Mite replacement tuners (good and pretty cheap)
    Rotosound RS 66 Swing Bass Strings (45-105)

The ultimate hard rock P bass setup IMO. You can get almost everything besides maybe the nut from Guitarelectronics.com

3. MikeBass

MikeBass Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2003
    Royal, Oak, MI.
    This should be, or will be moved to the Setup and repair forum.
    Buk heck, I'll chime in!!

Bone nut.
    BadAss or Gotoh as mentioned by dave